Sugar-free banana bread

Sugar-free banana bread

So there seems to be a slight let up from the irritable, rash covered, feverish, teething-four-molars, dear little monster that has been slowly destroying my home. After the most arduous days when my arms are just never free, I find myself with this urge to make like nothing else. I’m really not trying to be super mum; this is my only therapy (that and Jane Austen). Miss K must also be super exhausted as I am currently enjoying one of her rare long naps…

Earlier today we were cooking. Here is the outdoor kitchen:

Miss K's outdoor kitchen

Miss K’s outdoor kitchen

She was cooking up a storm. Never mind that it kept ending up on the kitchen floor (I think she enjoys seeing me sweep it up) as she came to procure more flour for her rose-petal egg cup muffins. I still got my stuff made and she did not ask to be picked up. Not. Once. Yay.

By the way, why is it that I never heard that kids become little people so quickly? I mean Miss K is only 14 months old and she is cooking. I only ever had a picture of 4 year olds doing that kind of thing. Oh, naive pre-parent me…

She is so busy doing it, it melts my heart. Bless her and all the amazing little people out there.

Back to business.

So, sugar free banana bread. I mean it is sweetner-free too. No fancy agave, or sophisticated honey. Just banana. If you don’t already know, I am not a sweet tooth, so it turned out perfect for me. Pat-myself-on-the-back kind of perfect. It was so easy too!

So I had a look at a few recipes online as I’ve never made it before, but, as I hate having the computer on when Miss K is about, I memorised what I could and just improvised. This is what I came up with.

sugar-free banana bread

sugar-free banana bread

It is moist and crunchy and banana-y, in short delicious. Here’s how…

Ingredients:

4 tablespoons of butter
1 or 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
2 eggs
Quater cup of buttermilk or yoghurt
half a teaspoon of vanilla essence or powder
2 or 3 ripe bananas
2 cups of self-raising flour (plus some to make the consistency right)
Half a cup of pecan nuts

Melt down butter. If you live in a place where the sun is shining like it has a death-wish, leave the butter in your mixing bowl in the sun (that is what I did). Set your oven to 180’C (350’F).

Once it is melted, make sure it is cool and add the eggs, cinnamon, buttermilk/yoghurt, vanilla and stir until consistent and creamy. Using a fork or fine masher, add your bananas. Slowly add in the flour and stop once it becomes a thick and sticky, but not doughy, mixture. Mix in the pecan nuts.

Butter and flour your moulds. I tried two different shapes to be exciting. Pour in the mixture 3/4 of the way.

Bake for 40 minutes or so. I have a funny bench-top oven, it probably takes longer. It’s ready when you can slide a knife into it and it comes out clean.

sugar-free banana bread

sugar-free banana bread

I’m still working on two sewing project that I can’t wait to share with you all, so keep posted.

 

Leave a Reply

