Hot Chilli Summer – how to make chilli oil

It was hot again today. Yucky, sticky, muggy hot. So I thought, let’s make chilli oil!

chilli baby - how to make hot chilli oil

chilli baby – how to make hot chilli oil

If something survives my style of gardening and the heat at the moment, then it deserves some recognition. Our chillies are really taking to the treatment they get, and surplus is my favourite thing. This post is not much more than a homage to our chillies.

hot green chilli - how to make chilli oil

hot green chilli – how to make chilli oil

On the topic of brave fruit, Miss K. is fascinated by the chillies, which just seems to pop up so quickly. Today as we picked the chillies to make the oil, she took a bite out of one. I was rather worried, forgot to stay calm as I ran to her saying ‘no, no’ and fished it out of her mouth. I took a bite to see how hot it was and whoa, that was some potent heat I had in my mouth, but you know what – she did not flinch. Amazing girl.

hot chilli oil

how to make hot chilli oil

Anyways, I needed to do something with all these chillies, so I thought oil. This way I could preserve them and be able to use them countless amounts of times. Below is the simple recipe.

Ingredients:

1 cup of chopped fresh chillies
500mL (17oz) of oil – I used grapeseed oil for it’s higher temp. threshold and mild flavour

Chop up chillies and put into pan with all the oil. Let it simmer for 5 or 10 minutes just to make sure it won’t grow legs. Allow this too cool while you boil or steam the glass jar/bottle in which you will preserve your oil. Carefully get the oil inside your jar/bottle.

Careful of what your hands touch and clean up thoroughly so you don’t blind anyone accidentally.

Actually, I hear from quite a few people to just cut up the chillies and put them in the oil, without cooking or anything. Either way, the oil and chillies have to sit for a week or so before getting the chilli flavour. Once mine has the flavour going I’ll post a recipe using it.

My jar of chilli oil in a rather unglamorous photo

My jar of chilli oil in a rather unglamorous photo

2 thoughts on “Hot Chilli Summer – how to make chilli oil

  1. Pingback: Yoghurt fail makes a mean curry | Mrs Winter Creates

Leave a Reply

