Grey baby jacket with butterfly skirt

Finally I write about a finished sewing project as promised!

grey baby jacket and butterfly skirt

grey baby jacket and butterfly skirt

I have a shirt that my good friend gave me for Miss K. It is so light, bright and versatile that we use it all the time. I am guessing that it was made in India.

More about that skirt later...

The shirt. More about that skirt later…

I copied the pattern to try make my own, but somehow it ended up being a serious looking jacket rather than a cool and sun covering summer shirt.

grey baby jacket and butterfly skirt

grey baby jacket and butterfly skirt

I made it from an old pair of men’s linen Versace trousers. I guess I should have expected it to look like business… that is why I went for a flouncy skirt to accompany it rather than pants as I was first thinking.

grey baby jacket and butterfly skirt

grey baby jacket and butterfly skirt

The shoulders are quite wide, but that was the aesthetic of the original shirt too. I find it cooky and do like it, but I also look forward to trying the pattern with a gentle fabric to see if it might come out looking more suitable for a one year old.

My favourite things about it are the pocket and sleeve details (with contrasting fabric) and the sleeve style.

grey jacket, sleeve detail

grey jacket, sleeve detail

Once I have made a few and I iron out the not-so-great bits, I’ll put up a tutorial. If you have a blog and would like to try out this prototype to review and give me some feedback, let me know. It is only in one size so far, 12-18 months.

2 thoughts on “Grey baby jacket with butterfly skirt

  1. Kasia

    I love the contrasting fabric detail. It’s very pretty and would look nice as a winter jacket! It might even still fit then.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

