Fairytale envelopes

It seems that with the tidal wave of birthdays and of course Yule in the last few months, I had run out of home made envelopes. Actually, this happened some time ago, which has sent me scrambling to find and/or make something at the last minute a few times – not good with needy baby.

So tonight I sat myself down and got to task. I had a whole heap of pages from some german fairytale books that had fallen apart. The bonus of being a teacher is that you get this kind of stuff if you are a bit nosey. I hate to throw out anything useful and it helps if it is beautiful. I am, I’ll admit, a hoarder of paper…

Handmade envelopes out of vintage fairytale book pages

Handmade envelopes out of vintage fairytale book pages

I use a template that I bought at MUJI, though there are so many available on the net that you needn’t go out and buy one.

Handmade envelopes out of vintage fairytale book pages

Handmade envelopes out of vintage fairytale book pages

The fantastic thing about fairytale books is that there are often words or pictures on both sides, so that there is a little beauty on the inside of the envelope too. Maps can also be really good for this reason.

Handmade envelopes out of vintage fairytale book pages

Handmade envelopes out of vintage fairytale book pages

I also use a bone tool to get the edges nice and crisp. I use to use the handles on scissors and that also works just fine as long as they don’t draw colour onto your paper. Whatever you use it has to be blunt and hard.

Handmade envelopes out of vintage fairytale book pages

Handmade envelopes out of vintage fairytale book pages

So now I am ready to send some snail-mail or give a few birthday cards to my friends and family. For people who I know appreciate this kind of thing, I also like to give these as gifts with some great quality paper and perhaps a few stickers or some lovely twine. Goes down a treat.

Now back to a very perplexing, antique children’s dress pattern I’m trying to crack…

Leave a Reply

