Easter basket on retreat

Last weekend Miss K and I went on a weaving retreat South-West of Perth near a town called Dwellingup. The land there is thick with native forest and a river courses through it in a meandering fashion, splitting for a rocky island here or becoming the perfect wading pond there. The water is low after a hot summer and a continuously warm autumn. Our group of children under five and their respective parents found this to be perfect for water-play needs, especially at a spot called Nanga Mill – where the crystal-clear rivulet weaves in and out of rocks, on top of pebbles and lusciously squishy clay beds nestled with stunted tress and reeds that hang over and make it feel like a fairy glen. I did not have my camera so I guess, dear reader, that you will have to visit this wonder for yourself.

Needless to say that with all this natural beauty to explore, I did little weaving during the day. I did, however, get the chance to begin an Easter basket on night.

The beginnings of my Easter basket - Mrs Winter Creates

The beginnings of my Easter basket – Mrs Winter Creates

A few days now after our return I have finished the basket. I ran out of the dried Watsonia leaves I collected at Nanga Mill (it is a very persistent weed unfortunately, but wonderfully suited to weaving once soaked a little), so I had to finish with some dried leaves I found lying about the garden.

Self-made Easter basket - Mrs Winter Creates

Self-made Easter basket – Mrs Winter Creates

I wasn’t entirely sure about my embellishments. I used the dried parts of a King Protea (the one from the photos from this post)…

King Protea embellishments on the Easter basket - Mrs Winter Creates

King Protea embellishments on the Easter basket – Mrs Winter Creates

…and a cotton rope plaited as a handle.

Plaited rope basket handle - Mrs Winter Creates

Plaited rope basket handle – Mrs Winter Creates

I attached to handle to the side carefully, though only one side looks well. That is this one:

Grass and rope basket - Mrs Winter Creates

Grass and rope basket – Mrs Winter Creates

The dried parts of the Protea I also used as a dye-stuff for a silk scarf I thought might do as the basket liner, though it may prove too bulky.

Silk scarf dyed with King Protea parts - Mrs Winter Creates

Silk scarf dyed with King Protea parts – Mrs Winter Creates

The colour of the scarf includes lovely earthy pink tones to, though this isn’t so apparent in the photos.

I’m looking forward to having the basket full with all the necessary ingredients for the blessing on Saturday. I will write about what is included in a traditional Polish basket in a later post (I find myself writing this a lot lately).

If you would like to make your own Easter basket, it doesn’t take too long and you could use my tutorial here to get started.

 

Leave a Reply

