Far from quiet

So I haven’t written for about 2 weeks, but this can not to be attributed to having done little. It’s been a very interesting, beautiful, sad and productive two weeks.

At the beginning of these two weeks, I had a very good friend come to visit us from Melbourne. She is a talented artist whom we got to know in Berlin. We have the most amazing conversations about philosophy as neither of us shrink from difficult and demanding questions in these moments. Somehow, even though we seem to be diametrically opposed in some way, we end in agreement, or at times in respectful disagreement and always much enriched and enlivened by the discourse. I’ll write about her work soon in a separate post as it truly deserves the attention.

Today I attended my friend and mentor’s funeral. It was a beautiful and joyous event. It was a sad and thoughtful gathering too. He is the second person I know who has passed away gracefully and beautifully and this gives his friends and family grace and strength. I was blessed with the honour of speaking to him only a week ago as he lay; my heart is warm and full of this moment and of all the things I had learnt from him. A great and passionate teacher always leaves a strong impression, and as teaching is also my passion his passing and memory is helping stoke the fire that has been quietly smouldering ashes during this time of raising Miss K. I go back to teaching in August, and I am slowly building an eager hunger for the work again. Thank you John.

On the subject of my going back to teaching, well that job is in Berlin and at the moment we are in Australia – which means we are moving back, in two months time! You know what occupies my thoughts the most?

How on earth am I going to complete all of my craft projects before then?

What ought I do with all my craft supplies? What should I take with me?

 

Here is a sneak-peak of the projects I have going at the moment:

Coiled rope basket project - Mrs Winter Creates

Coiled rope basket project – Mrs Winter Creates

Knitted baby camisole project - Mrs Winter Creates

Knitted baby camisole project – Mrs Winter Creates

Water colour and pencils - Mrs Winter Creates

Water colour and pencils – Mrs Winter Creates

Minimalist handmade jewellery - Mrs Winter Creates

Minimalist handmade jewellery – Mrs Winter Creates

Self-designed, printed and made baby jacket - Mrs Winter Creates

Self-designed, printed and made baby jacket – Mrs Winter Creates

Straightgrain improvisational pleating contest dress - Mrs Winter Creates

Straightgrain improvisational pleating contest dress – Mrs Winter Creates

So, stay tuned for a host of patterns, projects, reviews and new etsy items.

The last picture above is of the fabrics I am using for the Straightgrain improvisational pleating contest – it is the first sewing contest I am entering, ever. Here is the button:

2 thoughts on “Far from quiet

Leave a Reply

